New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

It’s not as it appears…

How would you react if you were going along your daily routine and you looked up to greet someone and at first glance you can tell there is something wrong with them?   Maybe they are in a wheelchair or they are physically abnormal in some way.  Most of us would go about as normal as possible so as not to make anyone embarrassed, right?    So how about if you looked at someone and something was abnormal on their face that you had NEVER seen before?

I know the answer to that question.   I used to stand out of the crowd for fifty years. I was born with a physical birth defect on my right eye.  Even my doctors had not seen anything like it before.  Since it was my eye….there was no way to hide it, it was the first thing people saw.  I was stared at….a lot.  I was asked questions…a lot.  I was humiliated and embarrassed…a lot.  Growing up was emotionally painful…no dates and so much low self-esteem.

I fought daily to be “normal.’  To fit in and not be noticed by others. I loved it when people just ignored the way I looked.  I had to work twice as hard to get anything…job, license, respect etc.

.

.

Two years ago, I underwent three surgeries to correct the “physical” deformity’s.   In eight months time I went from standing out ALL the time to finally blending in.

Immediately after the surgeries I went through a period of staring at people as I was walking around to see if they still looked at me funny.  I began to feel comfortable around people for the first time and I could actually look at others in the eye during a conversation.

Now…there is no stopping me…I am enjoying this new-found identity and self-confidence.  Nothing is going to stop me from anything!

My message is clear…People are not what they appear to be.  Never judge someone for the way they look because underneath they are made of the same stuff as you are.

I’ve had the opportunity to see both sides of the fence.  I now stand out for better things…like my art…my personality, my message for people who are wanting to make their lives happier.

Yes…It’s a pretty deep story I have here…but it’s worth telling…if it helps anyone.

Sherry L. Cook

.

This is what others had to say on the subject of standing out…

  1. The Center of Attention | Godrick Gnomish
  2. Standout | The Magic Black Book
  3. Successfully Stereotyped (A Walking Contradiction) | Daily Prompt: Standout | likereadingontrains
  4. If Poetry Were Baseball | Liars, Hypocrites & The Development of Human Emotion
  5. Daily Prompt: Standout | Under the Monkey Tree
  6. Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  7. Standout Colors | Andante Cantabile
  8. Daily Prompt: Standout | littlegirlstory
  9. Standout | Geek Ergo Sum
  10. Daily Prompt: Standing Out and then Fading into the Background | a Portia Adams adventure
  11. I Like The Dark for a Reason | Untitled Entity
  12. Stand up; stand out | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  13. First day of senior year – facing the crowd | Never Stationary
  14. Standout | suzie81’s Blog
  15. Stand Up and Tell Us About It Kid | JuSt ViSiTiNG THiS PLaNeT…
  16. Outstanding | As I See It
  17. Strangers | cellarfloor
  18. Scenery, Not Seen | mentalrollercoaster
  19. Daily Prompt: Standout « Mama Bear Musings
  20. Some People Can Do Brando And Some People Can’t (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  21. To thine own self be true… | notsinglebutnothappy
  22. Uniquely Mattered | clarior e tenebris
  23. “Standout” | Relax
  24. Standout: Egyptian Cat | Khana’s Web
  25. Ladybug Standout | The left side
  26. Daily Prompt: Standout – Graffiti as art | SERENDIPITY
  27. 16|8 Daily Prompt: Standout | familyphotosfoodcraft.com
  28. Differences of the Mind | Maggie’s Stories
  29. Raspberry (Standout) | photo potpourri
  30. Daily Prompt: Standout | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  31. Oops…Red-Faced In A Crowded Elevator! | The Political and Social Chaos Blog
  32. Kind of a Sore Thumb | Kind of a Bum
  33. Contradictions: Stand Out | Blue Loft
  34. “Standout” daily post « Equitherapy
  35. Too Cute… | Haiku By Ku
  36. In The Eyes Of Fame | The Muslim Bricks
  37. DP Standout– Poem: The Key to Wholeness | The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel
  38. I Was Chosen | Daily Observations
  39. Belonging | The Silver Leaf Journal
  40. Standout | Life & Times
  41. Standing out! | JB Blogs
  42. The Power of the TRIPOD | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  43. Daily Prompt: Standout | Moments Thru Lens
  1. Is the camera on? | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  2. Daily Prompt: Standout – Dance in Public… Who Me? « IF I ONLY HAD A TIME MACHINE
  3. DragonMommie’s World
  4. To Speak or Not to Speak | DragonMommie’s World
  5. stands out blending in | kemkoh
  6. Standout | The Nameless One
  7. To Each His Own | Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Happiness
  8. Daily Prompt: Standout | The Lint In My Pocket
  9. Lady Gloves & Mufflers | Fish Of Gold
  10. Daily Prompt: Standout | Chicomallorca’s Blog
  11. Daily Prompt: Standout » My Life, My Way, My Words
  12. Cake Day At Karachi University | amateurxpress
  13. Standing Out in a Crowd | Northwest Frame of Mind
  14. Standing out, | Education with a Splash of Autism
  15. Not quite STAND OUT but certainly less HIDE AWAY | thoughtsofrkh
  16. Young boy champion | Neva Samaki
  17. Daily Prompt: Standout | The Daily Post « The Blogging Path

Daily Prompt: Standout

by michelle w.

When was the last time you really stood out in a crowd? Are you comfortable in that position, or do you wish you could fade into the woodwork?

9 comments on “It’s not as it appears…

  1. Baz Baron
    August 16, 2013

    Great blog, Sherry and truly inspirational. I like the clean crispness of your layout as well.

    • sherrylcook
      August 16, 2013

      Thank you! I changed to this layout 3 months ago and I am really enjoying it. Cheers! Sherry

  2. Pingback: WORST KIND OF HUNGER | hastywords

  3. dragonmommie
    August 15, 2013

    Thank you for your post… I included it on my related post list. Thanks for coming by my blog, too.

  4. Pingback: To Speak or Not to Speak | DragonMommie's World

  5. Pingback: Standout: Egyptian Cat | Khana's Web

  6. Pingback: Stand up, Stand down! Wow! Do I want to blend in!?!?! | jennifermarshcurtis

  7. Snigdha
    August 15, 2013

    Amazing. Really inspirational! Thanks for sharing your profound experience. 🙂

    • sherrylcook
      August 15, 2013

      Thank you…and it still is amazing to me….the difference it makes in the way you are treated and how I feel about myself. Thanks for commenting!
      Sherry

Leave a Reply

