New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Revealing my thoughts

Pardon me while I ramble for moment…

Today I am in chaos

I often write about inner peace, finding your happiness and simplifying your life.  Today I need to take my own advice.  I have so many rambling thoughts running through my head that I can’t seem to settle the dust, so to speak.

When your physical body gets overworked and you’ve exhausted all the meditations and positive thoughts you can muster…it is time to rest.

My life has taken on such a twist in the last couple of years and believe me…I’m not complaining.  I love my life and I’m happier than I’ve ever been but I am unsettled.

Overview

* I have a stressful job where we deal with adults with developmental disabilities and I find myself always solving problems, arguments, breaking up fights, endless paperwork etc etc.

* I have my own place that is next door to my parents. This is very convenient so I can help them out as they age and may need my help from time to time.

* My boyfriend has a house that I just adore on the other side of town that is very peaceful and spacious.  I love spending time there with him.

* I have two daughters and granddaughters that I help with as often as I can.

* My memoir has been shelved for the time being because I’m at a phase where I really don’t know what to do.  It’s written but needs corrections and final editing…. I’m not an editor and I have no money to pay one.

* My passion is to paint  and sell my art through the internet, festivals and shops. I’ve been working so hard preparing for the day when I can do this full-time but it doesn’t look like it will ever happen.   Working late into the night is catching up with me.

* There are many more elements that are entwined through my life that would take the whole day to write but simply put, I’m tired.  I feel unfinished, like I can’t get it all done.

What do I do if I’m not willing to let anything go to simplify.things?  I literally have a suitcase and three bags in my car at all times. Going from one house to another.  Can I split myself into five parts to get it all done?   I find myself late for work, late for appointments and not living up to promises.

Do any of you ever feel this way?  If so…do you have any advice for me at this point?

Much love everyone…

Sherry L. Cook

8 comments on “Revealing my thoughts

  1. thecontentedcrafter
    August 23, 2013

    Hi Sherry, I am a new follower to your blog and a little hesitant to ‘offer advice’ …. but I do understand your dilemma. Staying in gratitude while feeling overwhelmed, unsettled and a little lost seems almost impossible. I try to remind myself that when I fall out of that peaceful place I am falling out of trust. Trust. Trust allows us to be okay with what is, to be kinder to ourselves, to not expect to be super woman and control all aspects of our world. Trust allows us to let go of control and just be. I remind myself I am a human being – not a human doing ! The first commenter had good practical words to offer my suggestion would be that you really look at her list and find just one way you can relieve some stress. Just one. Oh, and don’t forget to breathe! 🙂 Best wishes and happy thoughts, Pauline

    • sherrylcook
      August 23, 2013

      Pauline,
      Your words shot through me like an arrow! Thank you….I needed you to tell me that. I feel the love!
      FYI,
      I’ve had a lovely evening in the back yard watching the sun set…(slapping away mosquito’s) take out pizza and a hot shower.
      Having gratitude

  2. Frances D
    August 23, 2013

    Are there brother and sisters to help with your parents?
    Is there another set of grandparents to help with the kids?
    You need to take part of the weekend or whatever time you have off from your job and declare it yours alone.
    Would you consider changing jobs?
    Could you scale back your lifestyle? Move to a smaller place? Cut expenses in other ways?
    Sending good vibes your way!

    • sherrylcook
      August 23, 2013

      All excellent suggestions Frances…I do have one brother who lives thirty minutes away (He is just as busy as I am) and he does help when he can. Other grandparents are great and they do help also. I think we are all victim to the way society is right now. Everyone has to work. When I was young my mother was able to stay at home which allowed her time to arrange her day as needed. Plus, I am single with a boyfriend…(which is hard to handle at my age.) I envy the people who are retired or have the luxury to stay home. But this is my life and I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I know God has a plan… Thank you for the good vibes…I’m feeling them already!!!
      Hugs to you!
      Sherry

      • Frances D
        August 23, 2013

        Even more good vibes coming at you – Happy Weekend!

  3. K. Bailey Fucanan
    August 23, 2013

    I understand. Just take a few minutes to breathe and clear your mind of everything. A short time for Yoga practice or a good bike ride does it for me. Each are about 15-20 minutes (the yoga, not the rides). Be sure to put yourself on the top of your list. It’s not selfish, it’s essential. Be careful not to promise to many things to others, even if your intentions are good. That’s my two cents. I hope it helps. 🙂

    • sherrylcook
      August 23, 2013

      Thank you! these are things I know but need to hear from someone else. I try to see it as a time to re-stock my energy and see what my intuition tells me.
      hugs!
      Sherry

      • K. Bailey Fucanan
        August 23, 2013

        We all do need that once in a while, right? Peace, love and hugs to you, Sherry!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 23, 2013 by in About Me and tagged , , , , .
