New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

How to grow a rock

 

Everyday, WordPress gives us a challenge to write about.  In other words, they give me ideas when I have writers block.  Sometimes I participate and sometimes I opt out.  Today, I’m writing.   Below is my challenge…..easy, breezy!   *********************************************************

Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock

Is it easy for you to ask for help when you need it, or do you prefer to rely only on yourself? Why?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us SELF.

I am a giver by nature.

By:  Sherry L. Cook

I am the person that will bend over backwards to help…listen when you want to talk and understand when no one else does.  I hate to be late for anything and I am usually early.  I give with my heart and I wear it on my sleeve.

People similar to me…

Are the ones that end up hurt. We are emotionally “in” and look forward to the future, sharing through rose-colored glasses.   We get attached then hurt.  You would think we would learn our lessons and start protecting our emotions and even though we try…still get hurt terribly.

That was then…This is now…

Now…I am realizing that I am a ROCK.  I must be my own rock. If there was ever a major lesson for me to realize in my lifetime it is…  I must be my own rock.  Never put all your trust into anything or anyone.

Shielded or scarred?

Do I wear an iron shield around my heart so no one can get that close to do anymore damage?

Or is it a healed scar from past experiences that will never really go away?

I am still working on that answer.  Each day, new experiences and new wisdom come before me.

I am a Rock… and don’t ever forget it.

pink rock

Quote :

“My alone feels so good, I’ll only have you if you’re sweeter than my solitude.”

― Warsan Shire

*******************************************************

Here is what other bloggers had to say about the challenge today!

  1. I Am a Rock | Geek Ergo Sum
  2. Overcoming Psychological Issues of Being A Novelist | Ramisa the Authoress
  3. The Rock | Renato Vasconcellos David
  4. Self | Mara Eastern’s Personal Blog
  5. My.Vivid.Visions | Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock – Love the Independence
  6. Daily Prompt: Help | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  7. ask for help? pfffft | wannabepoet
  8. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | Alastair’s Blog
  9. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | Alastair’s Blog
  10. Prideful life principle | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  11. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | Under the Monkey Tree
  12. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | Kelly’s Life
  13. I Am (my own) Rock | Clandestine Destiny
  14. On Asking for Help | My Beautiful Breakdown
  15. Daily Prompt: I Am A Rock | College Girl Dai
  16. Suck it up Buttercup | mostlytrueramblings
  17. Suck it up Buttercup | mostlytrueramblings
  18. I am a rock | ??Journey or destination??
  19. Daily Prompt ~ It’s Rocky Here! | Misifusa’s Blog
  20. daily prompt – relp! | pork juice & paper towels
  21. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock « Mama Bear Musings
  22. Help me OR Stay away from me?? | mcpw
  23. It’s Playtime | Anchors Aweigh
  24. Help! (Is it easy to ask for help?) | alienorajt
  25. Advice To Writers; Help Me! I’m Bleeding! | The Jittery Goat
  26. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | littlegirlstory
  27. Daily Prompt: Could Somebody Help Me Please? | Along Life’s Road
  28. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock 4|9 | familyphotosfoodcraft.com
  29. What if I was Rock Solid? | Okay, what if ?
  30. 163. Looking for Help | kevindeisher
  31. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | The Story of a Guy
  32. Daily Prompt: I am a rock | Hephzibah
  33. HELP. | ayimas
  34. A little help from my friends… | Vampire Maman
  35. the UNCATEGORISED | Vomming into the hand that feeds you | the TRASH BASH
  36. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | મન ની વાત
  37. Daily Prompt: I am a Rock | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  38. With A Little Help From My Friends – Part One | Zeebra Designs & Destinations
  39. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | Olivia May Photography
  40. I Am a Rock | Flowers and Breezes
  41. With A Little Help From My Friends (Finally) | Not a Punk Rocker
  42. Daily Prompt – I’m a Rock? | My Gap Year Adventure
  43. Rock Me, Baby | CurTales
  44. Independent Pup… | Haiku By Ku

6 comments on “How to grow a rock

  1. Pingback: I will remember you… | New Visions

  2. Frances D
    September 4, 2013

    Love the quote – hope you don’t mind me posting it to my Facebook. Using a diamond to illustrate this post was a good idea. You’re a glittery gorgeous precious stone. Take care.

    • sherrylcook
      September 4, 2013

      Thank you my dear Francis. I believe there are thousands of beautiful glittery rocks out there!
      Much love to you!
      Sherry

  3. thecontentedcrafter
    September 4, 2013

    My goodness, we are alike! And you are a sparkly rock too – I like that very much 🙂

  4. sheenmeem
    September 4, 2013

    You are a lovely rock!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 4, 2013 by in About Me and tagged , , , , , , , .
