New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Do you need to Wiggle your nose?

You can heal your heart…but it takes time.

It’s been awhile since I last wrote a post.  So much going on in my life. So many changes and such little time.

My blog is meant to uplift, encourage and maybe put a smile on your face once in a while.  I hope it does.

I wish I had the power to wiggle my nose like the character Samantha in the TV series Bewitched.  She could turn people into animals, make objects float across the room and the world freeze until she decided what to do.

)

Have you ever wanted life to become immobilized for a while so you can get your thoughts together?  Going through the motions of life such as work, family, chores and bills can be very hard while you are going through an emotional change.  Most importantly a change that you didn’t want and have no control over.  A change that hurts and there are no answers.

I put my trust and faith on the line (again) and handed my heart over. 

In my personal life I’ve been struggling with this type of change the last two months. It left me feeling weak, vulnerable and defeated.  No matter how happy and confident of a person that I am , it didn’t make me immune to change.  Changes that I have no control over.   People will disappoint me no matter how much I try to be cautious and aware.  It still hurt.

I found myself feeling sorry for myself, many emotions bottled up inside of me ready to explode.  I knew it was time to do something…anything to heal.

I took some time off of work to get out-of-town. Spending a few days in Gatlinburg, TN.  with my daughters and granddaughters.  It kept my mind busy and it refreshed my attitude to know how truly blessed I am to have such a wonderful family.  The sun came out, my mind was getting clearer  and I was making new memories instead of brooding over old ones.

In other words…I immobilized my world like Samantha.  I asked my closest friends to send me positive text messages of quotes and phrases during my time away and prayed for peace from the change that was haunting me.

.

.

.When I headed home from my immobilized weekend, I had a nine-hour drive to think…I did feel better.  I was on the way out of my darkness. It’s been a long cold, sad winter but now the sun is shining and my spirits are lifted.

back deck view...mountains.

I still get sad when I hear certain songs or visit special places.  I wonder…why?

.

It’s a process…

.

.

So, if you ever feel the need to put a hold on your world. Use your imagination to give yourself the gift of time.  Time to heal. Gather your closest friends for support.

Wiggle your nose!

Sherry L. Cook

Ways to Immobilize your world…

1. Get away from your regular routine.

2. Take a vacation if you can.

3. Day trip or visit to a close favorite spot.

4.  Treat yourself to something nice.

5.  A good meal, hot bath, take a walk, buy a new outfit.

6.  Spend time with the friends that make you feel better about yourself.

And if none of the above sounds good to you. Give yourself the time to mourn, cry, find some type of closure and pray.

Everyday will be just a bit better than the last. When you finally feel stronger you can decide it might be time to “UNFREEZE YOUR WORLD”  to begin living again!

Take it slow…after-all you are human.

2 comments on “Do you need to Wiggle your nose?

  1. Sandra Matousek
    March 17, 2014

    Glad you are back…. I have missed your blog !!! Thanks for sharing your thoughts & your self !!! 🙂

    • sherrylcook
      March 17, 2014

      Thank you! I’m glad to be back and can’t wait to dust off the ole keyboard again. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2014 by in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
