New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Do or Die, Person, Place or Thing

Do or Die

 In Response to the daily post…

I have three hundred words to justify the existence of my favorite person, place, or thing. Failure to convince will result in it vanishing without a trace. Go!

  Person, Place or Thing

All three of these categories apply for me, they are all one and the same.  I will explain…

There is this place nestled in the southernmost region of Alabama called Dauphin Island.  It is a piece of land that is a well known secret to the locals in our area.   Barely into the Gulf of Mexico, there are no high rise condos or an over abundance of tourist. Since I was a child I have fond memories of crossing the big bridge onto the small island of beaches, boats, piers and some of the most gorgeous sunsets ever. This place gives me strength, dreams and relaxation.

 

Daupin island

 

    Dauphin Island, Alabama aerial view

 

My favorite person is me, I’ve come to realize that the only person to make me happy is myself.  No one can even come close to filling that order. I’ve learned through years of bad relationships and experiences… thus the beach helps me to see and accept life as it is.

 

dauphin island chairs        Dauphin, Island Alabama

 

The thing,  is getting in my car and driving to this place where I can cry, think, love, rejuvenate, laugh, forget, remember and refresh.  I love this place and I don’t get there often enough, though it is only a thirty minute drive from my home.  Routines and life often get in the way…thank you daily post for reminding me.  I’ll be taking a trip there very soon!

dauphin Island lighthouse

     Sand Island Lighthouse

 

 

Dauphin Island sunset

        Dauphin Island, Al.

 

cropped-cropped-cropped-beach-pic.jpg

 

2 comments on “Do or Die, Person, Place or Thing

  1. Lee Broom
    September 19, 2015

    You left a comment on a blog site of mine to which I lost access four years ago. We both have the same “favorite person”. Do you ever wonder if there is only one “Me”?

    • sherrylcook
      September 19, 2015

      I do wonder about that… I sure would like to meet the other me! Thanks for commenting and reconnecting!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2015 by in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Navigation

